Girifalco originated after the destruction of two ancient villages named Toco and Caria during the Saracen raids in 836. People from the villages took refuge on a cliff called "Pietra dei Monaci". Girifalco became a municipality during the so-called “French decade” between 1806 and 1815. The legend from which Girifalco took its name is reproduced in the coat of arms: a wingspread falcon circling above a tower in the blue sky. The town stands in the middle of the Catanzaro isthmus, the narrowest point of the Italian peninsula, at the foot of Mt Covello, in the mountain sub-group of Mt Serralta in the Northern Serre range. Several monuments and places can be visited in Girifalco. The renewal of the Pioppi Vecchi district, called Borg@rte, was recently carried out. The Historical Complex, that once housed the psychiatric hospital, and the “Acqua Calabria” facility, where mineral water is bottled, are located in the Girifalco territory. The memorial dedicated to the fallen soldiers stands in the Rimitello area near Mt Covello that also houses the Ornithological Center. Here, the statue of the Madonnina di Monte Covello can also be visited and outdoor enthusiasts will enjoy charming nature trails.
The Palazzo Ducale stands in the old town, opposite to the Municipal House; close to it, the memorial dedicated to the fallen soldiers was erected. Palazzo Staglianò and Palazzo Ciriaco are two remarkable buildings located in Corso Roma. The Botanical Garden stands next to the former Psychiatric Hospital. The typical alleyways in the old town are enchanting and lead to the several churches of the town dedicated to Saint Roch, Our Lady of the Rosary, Santa Maria delle Nevi, the Annunciation and Our lady of Sorrow.