/website/portalmedia/2017-05/comuni_miglierina-panorama.jpg  

MIGLIERINA

Miglierina is a village of about 800 inhabitants located in a charming position  between the Tyrrhenian and Ionian Seas, on a hill overlooking the Gulfs of Squillace and Sant’Eufemia. When the weather is clear, the Aeolian Islands can be seen from the town. The name probably derives from the presence of old water mills in the areas surrounding the village. “Muglierina” could thus be a place name meaning “the town of mills”. It was also assumed that the name derived from the new village location near Melina, an area where soils were more fertile than those of the original settlement.  The term “migliore-rina” would indicate a better soil.

The original settlement dates back to the 14th and 15th centuries. It was dominated by the feudal families of De Reggio, Ruffo and the Counts of Catanzaro. In 1610, it was sold to the Cigala family, the last feudal owners of Miglierina. In 1811 it became an independent municipality, and, in the Restoration period, it was ruled by the Bourbon family.

Miglierina is an inviting and friendly place, a community that welcomes visitors and travelers and involves them in the village life. Those who visit Miglierina will meet people and discover places, and they will be thrilled with culture and emotions.




 


Address Via Telesio
  88040 Miglierina (CZ)
Phone number 0961/993041
Fax 0961/993238
Website http://miglierina.asmenet.it/
 

 

From the village center, visitors can get to the Amato River, popularly called the “fiumara”, that flows in the valley. The natural landscape is enriched by the remains of ancient water mills. In the Presila mountain area, Mt Portella is covered with holm oaks, oaks, chestnut trees and Turkey oaks; a mineral water spring and a pic-nic site are also located in the area.  

The town of Miglierina is decorated with the artworks of local artists made between the 18th and the 20th centuries. They are the best evidence of the artistic vitality of the town. A monument by Bagalà dedicated to Saint Lucy is located at the entrance of the street entitled to the Miglierina Masters, the local artists. The heart of Miglierina is a cotto tile paved square called “Sottovia”, connected to the provincial road by a spiral staircase.  Walking on the staircase towards the main street, visitors will get to the “Chianavalle” quarter where the noble building of the Torcia family stands. An ancient olive mill with huge stones used for olive milling can be admired inside the Palazzo Arcuri.  Another charming quarter is the “Quadrune”, located in a higher position and characterized by the remains of the “Casale” of Miglierina, surrounded by many ancient houses.

The religious buildings located in Miglierina are among the most ancient edifices in the town.

The Main Church dedicated to Saint Lucy stands in the main square, while a 17th century Church dedicated to Saint Maria del Principio, also called the Church of Madonna del Rosario, is located in the lower town area.

 



meandcalabria-header.png
ME AND CALABRIA
PLAN YOUR OWN TRIP AND SHARE IT WITH WHOMEVER YOU CHOOSE.


SLEEP CALABRIA



mappa-header.png
MAP
YOUR IDEAL TRIP







 


TRIP TIPS