Important historical studies showed that the town originated by the development of the so-called Casali. Some time before the year 1000, after the Saracen invasion of Cosenza, many of its inhabitants ran away and took refuge in the Sila mountains. The newcomers populated the pre-existing shepherd villages that were the only human settlements in the plateau. At the time, the original Celico settlement consisted of four areas called Cedule. Soon after the arrival of Cosenza people, the cedule developed and formed a unique town that included Celico Soprano and Sottano (Upper and Lower Celico). The only detached area was Minnito that for a few years, during the French rule (1811), became an independent municipality. This occurrence fostered rivalry between the two communities that also followed different religion worships: Byzantine in Minniti and Jewish in Celico. As Vincenzo Padula stated, the name of the town derived from a Jewish word, Keli-ic, meaning a long and narrow vase that was the shape of the urban settlement of the time. The abbot Joachim, known as Joachim of Fiore, was born in Celico in 1130. During the period when the abbot lived in Celico, the town became a cultural reference and pilgrims’ destination. Celico took the side of the Anjou House and it was the bitter enemy of Cosenza, controlled by the Crown of Aragon. In 1644, the Casali were purchased by the Grand Duke of Tuscany, and they became the headquarter of the General Governor and important administrative districts. Feudal vexations induced Celico and the other towns to rebel against the Governor who left the area in 1647. Celico was again a part of the royal domains.